8 July 2022

Opening Ceremony Program


08:30 – 10:00


10:00 – 10:30

Welcome speeches

  Moderator: Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO
  Mr Xing Qu, Deputy Director-General, UNESCO
  H.E. Dr Luther Castillo Harry, Secretary of Science,
Technology, and Scientific Innovation, Republic of Honduras, on behalf of
H.E Iris Xiomara Castro Sarmiento
, President of the Republic of Honduras
  H.E. Csaba Kőrösi, President-elect, 77th United Nations General Assembly
  Dr Michel Spiro, Chair, Steering Committee of IYBSSD2022; President, International Union of Pure and Applied Physics
  Dr Merieme Chadid, President, Scientific Board of the UNESCO International Basic Sciences Program

10:30 – 10:45

UNESCO’s role in basic science: the beating heart of substainable development

  Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO

10:45 – 11:00

Coffee Break

11:00 – 12:30

The role of basic sciences in decision making


Ministers of science and high-level scientists discuss the importance of basic sciences in policy decision making, especially regarding the sustainable development challenges that we face.

  Moderator: Dr Rolf-Dieter Heuer, President, SESAME council; Professor Emeritus, University of Hamburg, Germany; former Director General, CERN
  H.E. Elba Rosa Pérez Montoya, Minister of Science, Technology and the Environment, Republic of Cuba (online)
  H.E. Luther Castillo Harry, Secretary of Science, Technology, and Scientific Innovation, Republic of Honduras
  H.E. Wang Zhigang, Minister and Secretary of Ministry of Science and Technology, People’s Republic of China (online)
  H.E. Dr Bonginkosi Emmanuel Blade Nzimande, Minister of Higher Education, Science & Innovation, Republic of South Africa
  H.E. Huynh Thanh Dat, Minister of Science and Technology, Socialist Republic of Vietnam
  Dr Low Teck Seng, Chief Executive Officer, National Research Foundation, Prime Minister’s Office, Republic of Singapore (online)
  Dr Serge Haroche, Honorary Professor, Collège de France, France, Physics Nobel Laureate (2012)
  Dr Giorgio Parisi, Emeritus Professor, Rome University La Sapienza, Italy, Physics Nobel Laureate (2021)

12:30 – 14:30


14:30 – 14:40

Strengthening science, technology, engineering and mathematics for the SDGs

  H.E. Mohamed Belhocine, African Union Commissioner for Education, Science, Technology and Innovation (video)

14:40 – 15:45

The Role of Basic Sciences in developping societies


How do scientists contribute to the progress toward the Sustainable Development Goals, with their results, and also in the way they are working and interacting with society?

  Moderator: Ms Dominique Leglu, Editorial Director, Science&Avenir La Recherche
  Dr Rui Bai, Associate Research Fellow, Westlake University, Hangzhou, China (online)
  Dr Karen Hallberg, Research Director, Bariloche Atomic Centre, Argentina
  Dr Hany Helal, President of Senghor University in Alexandria, Egypt; Professor, Cairo University, Faculty of Engineering; Former Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research of the Arab Republic of Egypt
  Dr Barry Barish, Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Physics, Emeritus, California Institute of Technology, USA, Physics Nobel Laureate (2017)
  Dr Francine Ntoumi, Director of the Center for Infectious Diseases-Christophe Mérieux, Brazzaville, Republic of Congo; Professor of Molecular Epidemiology of infectious Diseases, University of Tübingen, Germany (online)
  Remarks: Dr Emil Bjerrum-Bohr, Associate Professor, University of Copenhagen, Niels Bohr International Academy, Denmark, Great-grandson of Niels Bohr

15:45 – 16:00

Coffee Break

16:00 – 17:00

Perspectives on Basic Sciences and the Sustainable Development Goals


What are the challenges of Sustainable Development that basic sciences can help to address?

  Moderator: Ms Mamphela Ramphele, co-chair, Club of Rome
  Dr Tandong Yao, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Co-chair of Third Pole Environment Program, chief scientist of the Second Tibetan Plateau Scientific Expedition and Research program, China (online)
  Dr Pierre Léna, Honorary President, Office for Climate Education, France
  Dr Niyazi Serdar Sariciftci, Ordinarius Professor for Physical Chemistry; Founding Director of the Linz Institute for Organic Solarcells (LIOS), Johannes Kepler University of Linz, Austria (video)
  Dr Mercedes Bustamante, Full Professor, University of Brasília, Brazil (onine)
  Dr Mu-ming Pu, Scientific Director, Institute of Neuroscience, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chair of Organizing Committee, China Brain Project (online)
  Dr Mansurah Abdulazeez, Professor, Head of the Health Research Group, Centre for Biotechnology Research, Bayero University, Kano, Nigeria
  Dr Luca Marchetti, Assistant Professor, University of Trento; Supervisor of the Computational Biology Group at The Microsoft Research – University of Trento COSBI
  Dr Luc Aguilar, Research Director, Skin Microbiome and Exposome, L’Oréal

Musical interlude 

Mr Denis Teste, sitar and tabla

17:00 – 17:25

Basic Sciences from around the Globe


How international collaborations already contribute to address the SGDs?

  Dr Ursula Bassler, Research Director, IN2P3, CNRS, France; former president, CERN Council
  Dr Khaled Toukan, Director, SESAME, Jordan
  Dr Atish Dabholkar, Director, Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP)
  Dr Mohammed Hassan, President, The World Academy of Sciences (online)
  Dr Mike Stratton, Director, Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK (video)
  Remarks: Ms Charlotte Warakaulle, Director for International Relations, CERN

17:25 – 17:35

Concluding remarks

  Ms Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, Assistant Director General for Natural Sciences, UNESCO
  Dr Michel Spiro, Chair, Steering Committee of IYBSSD; President, International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment