ICTP logo
ICTP logo

“Promoting science as a common heritage of all humanity”

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) is a unique world institution that explores fundamental scientific questions at the highest level, promotes active engagement with scientists in developing countries, and advances international cooperation through science.

ICTP’s mission is to:

  • Foster the growth of advanced studies and research in physical and mathematical sciences, especially in support of excellence in developing countries.
  • Develop high-level scientific programmes keeping in mind the needs of developing countries, and provide an international forum of scientific contact for scientists from all countries.
  • Conduct research at the highest international standards and maintain a conducive environment of scientific inquiry for the entire ICTP community.

The Centre was founded in 1964 by Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam, inspired by the conviction that Science is the common heritage of humankind. ICTP offers an extraordinary environment for advancing knowledge, with a permanent faculty of 45 distinguished physicists and mathematicians who conduct world-class, curiosity-driven research in frontier areas of science, from astroparticle physics to quantum computing. They teach and mentor hundreds of students and young researchers from disadvantaged countries each year, equipping them to go on to study, teach, and conduct research in the world’s finest universities, and to contribute to the development of the science base in their home countries.

Each year, ICTP brings together more than 6,000 world-leading and early career scientists from more than 150 countries to participate in advanced workshops and conferences that explore topics at the cutting edge of physics and mathematics. This rich intellectual atmosphere is enhanced by resources such as the Marie Curie Library – one of Europe’s top research libraries, the high performance computing facilities, and residential and social accommodation.

ICTP is supported by generous funding from the Italian government, UNESCO, and the IAEA. It is a UNESCO Category 1 Institute.

  • Director: Atish Dabholkar
  • Acting Senior Coordinator (Research & Partnerships): Sandro Scandolo
  • Acting Senior Coordinator (Programmes and Advancement): George Thompson

Latest post