“Representing the German scientific community internationally, and providing policymakers and the public with science-based advice are the two major objectives of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.”

The Leopoldina originated in 1652 as a classical scholarly society. It has members from almost all branches of science. It champions the freedom and appreciation of science. It promotes a scientifically enlightened society and the responsible application of scientific insight for the benefit of humankind and the natural world. In its interdisciplinary discourse, the Academy transcends thematic, political and cultural boundaries. It is also an advocate of human rights.

It is the role of the Leopoldina, in co-operation with other national and international organisations, to identify and analyse scientific issues of social importance. The Leopoldina presents its policy recommendations in a scientifically qualified, independent, transparent and prospective manner, ever mindful of the standards and consequences of science.

For this purpose, it runs academic events, appoints commissions, and publishes the results obtained. It awards honours and prizes and promotes junior scientists.

  • President: Gerald Haug
  • Vice President: Ulla Bonas
  • Vice President: Thomas Krieg
  • Vice President: Regina Riphahn
  • Vice President: Robert Schlögl

Latest post