Principal Researcher, National Scientific and Technical Research Council and Associate Professor, National University of San Martín, Argentina

Franco M. Cabrerizo holds a BSc in Chemistry (2002) and a Ph.D in Chemical Sci. (2005) form the National University of La Plata (UNLP). He was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Center for Research in Carbohydrates (CIHIDECAR), at the National University of Buenos Aires (UBA) (2005 – 2006). He has carried out various research stays at several prestigious Institutions in China, Denmark, Germany, Japan, Spain, and Uruguay.

Since 2006 he has been a research member of CONICET (current position: Principal Researcher). In 2010 he took the position as the director of Photochemistry and Molecular Photobiology Research Group at INTECH. In 2013 he was appointed Associate Professor at UNSAM. Since 2020, Dr. Cabrerizo is member of the TWAS-LACREP Executive Council and Chair of the TWAS Young Affiliates Network (TYAN, UNESCO-TWAS).

His research focuses on understanding the molecular aspects of mechanisms underlying the processes triggered by UVA and/or visible light. This knowledge provides valuable information for the development of different biotechnological applications that might contribute to attend unresolved and/or neglected socially relevant local and global problems related to some infectious and chronic diseases as well as to changes in the current energy matrix towards more sustainable and renewable sources of energy. Dr. Cabrerizo has authored more than 75 scientific research articles in peer-reviewed journals. He has supervised more than 20 PhD and postdoctoral students and five Assistant Research Members of CONICET.

Dr. Cabrerizo was awarded the “G. Cilento Award” (by The Inter-American Photochemical Society, 2006); the “Ranwel Caputto Award” (by the National Academy of Science of Argentina, 2009), the “Dr. Eduardo Gros prize” (by the National Academy of Exact, Physics and Natural Sciences, ANCEFN, Argentina, 2015), the “Dr. Eduardo Gros Award” (by the Argentine Society of Research in Organic Chemistry, 2015), Young Affiliated Member of The World Academy of Science TWAS (2015-2020), The CAS President’s International Fellowship Initiative (PIFI, 2018), among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment