“The voice of European neuroscience”

The Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS) is the main organisation for neuroscience in Europe. FENS currently represents 44 European national and single discipline neuroscience societies with more than 20,000 member scientists from 33 European countries.

FENS promotes neuroscience research to policy-makers, funding bodies and the general public, both regionally and internationally. FENS promotes excellence in neuroscience research and facilitates exchanges and networking between neuroscientists within the European Research Area and beyond.

FENS activities include five broad areas:

  • Scientific meetings
  • Higher education and training
  • The European Journal of Neuroscience
  • Outreach & Advocacy
  • Membership

FENS values

FENS was created to bring together the scientific community and advance research and education in neuroscience in Europe and beyond.

FENS believes in inclusive, responsible science. FENS takes great pride in its position as the voice of European neuroscience and strives to structure its activities around the following principles.


FENS acknowledges the responsibility of the scientific community to carry out transparent, reproducible research to support the generation of excellent, credible science.


FENS believes that individual differences should never constitute a barrier to scientific excellence. As such, FENS strives to ensure that all of its activities, both internally and externally, are as inclusive and representative of the neuroscience community as possible, irrespective of gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, appearance, ethnicity, national origin, cultural background, age, political opinions or religion.


FENS is convinced of the value of bringing together researchers for scientific exchange and progress. Acknowledging the associated environmental impact, FENS continues to take relevant initiatives to minimise the impact of its activities in collaboration with the scientific community.

  • President: Jean-Antoine Girault
  • Secretary General: Dóra Reglodi
  • Treasurer: Harm Krugers
  • Executive Director: Tasia Asakawa

Latest post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment